Media Releases

$28 million funding boost to flood-affected councils declared as disaster areas

Senator The Hon Bridget McKenzie – Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience

The Hon Dominic Perrottet MP – Premier of New South Wales

The Hon Steph Cooke MP – New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience

The Hon Wendy Tuckerman MP- New South Wales Minister for Local Government

9 March 2022

Grants of $1 million have been made to an additional 28 flood-affected councils, bringing the total amount of financial support provided to councils to $45 million.

45 Local Government Areas (LGAs) across NSW have been declared as disaster areas and are receiving support through the joint Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said this funding will help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets.

“We will continue to be there to help every affected community in New South Wales to get back on their feet as soon as possible as flood waters recede,” Minister McKenzie said.

“The $1 million grants to impacted councils will assist with their immediate social, built, economic and environmental needs.

“We will continue to work closely with the NSW Government to roll out ongoing, targeted support for communities impacted by these devastating storms and floods.

“A phased approach to support will ensure communities have the resources and support they need at every stage of recovery,” Minister McKenzie said.

Premier of New South Wales Dominic Perrottet said the grants are part of a $434.7 million funding recovery package, co-founded by the Commonwealth and NSW governments, with more still to come.

“Each of the 45 flood-affected councils have now received a $1 million grant which can be used to cover operational costs or begin to restore damaged public infrastructure,” Mr Perrottet said.

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Steph Cooke said the NSW Government was working with community organisations and not-for-profits to support communities hit hard by the floods and storms.

“I would urge any individual, business owner or primary producer impacted by this unprecedented flood event to please contact Service NSW or visit one of our new Recovery Centres in Ballina, Casino, Kyogle, Lismore, Mullumbimby and Murwillumbah to find out what you are eligible for,” Ms Cooke said.

New South Wales Minister for Local Government Wendy Tuckerman said the $1 million grants have been sent directly to councils to assist them with their immediate social, built, economic and environmental needs in the recovery stage.

“Councils did not need to apply for this funding. The Office of Local Government has made direct transfers totaling $45 million to each flood-affected council,” Ms Tuckerman said.

The initial 17 councils to receive this support on 3 March 2022 included the LGAs of Armidale, Ballina, Bellingen, Byron, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Glen Innes Severn, Hornsby, Kempsey, Kyogle, Lismore, Nambucca, Port Macquarie/Hastings, Richmond, Tenterfield, The Hills and Tweed. On 5 March 2022 this was expanded to include the 28 LGAs of Bayside, Bega Valley, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Central Coast, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Inner West, Kiama, Ku-Ring-Gai, Liverpool City, Mid Coast, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

Media contacts:

  • David Edghill 0477 417 516 (Minister McKenzie)
  • Leigh van den Broeke 0455 991 340 (Premier)
  • Ben Sheath 0403 767 636 (Minister Cooke)
  • Damien Bolte 0498 359 624 (Minister Tuckerman
PDF VersionMinisteral Media Release – 9 March 2022