Media Releases

Councils shine at prestigious awards night

Wendy Tuckerman – Minister for Local Government

Friday, 5 August 2022

Last night, some of the best community projects, events and initiatives from councils across NSW were recognised at the Local Government Week awards, held as part of Local Government Week.

Minister for Local Government Wendy Tuckerman said the awards recognised innovative projects and exceptional work by councils and council staff across the state.

“I’m so proud of the work being done every day in the local government sector and it’s wonderful to see so many outstanding and innovative projects highlighted at the 2022 Local Government Week awards,” Mrs Tuckerman said.

“Councils are central to the everyday lives of communities across NSW and the Local Government Week awards are an opportunity to showcase the important work they do.

“I’d like to congratulate all the award winners who have gone above and beyond for their communities.”

Hosted by Local Government NSW and presented at the Fullerton Hotel in Sydney, the awards include the prestigious RH Dougherty Awards, the Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards, the LGNSW Planning Awards and the NSW Youth Week Awards. Among this year’s winners were:

  • Gilgandra Shire Council, RH Dougherty Award (Division A, Population under 30,000)
  • Woollahra Municipal Council, Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Award (Division B, Population 30,000-70,000)
  • Penrith City Council, LGNSW Planning Awards (Division C, Population over 70,000)
  • Yass Valley Council, NSW Youth Week Awards (Most Innovative Youth Week Program)

Local Government Week runs from Monday 1 August to Sunday 7 August.

The full list of awards and recipients is available here.

MEDIA: Damien Bolte | 0498 359 624

PDF VersionMinisterial Media Release – 5 August 2022