Media Releases

Ministers’ Women in Local Government Awards winner 2021 announced

Bronnie Taylor – Minister for Women, Minister for Regional Health, Minister for Mental Health
Wendy Tuckerman – Minister for Local Government

Wednesday, 21 September 2022

The winners for the Ministers’ Women in Local Government Awards for 2021 have been announced today, commemorating and celebrating the significant contribution women make to the sector.
Minister for Local Government Wendy Tuckerman acknowledged the winners in an awards ceremony at NSW Parliament House, thanking the award recipients for their efforts and contribution.
“I’m so proud to announce last year’s winners today, and to thank these formidable and inspirational women who contribute so much to our local government sector,” Mrs Tuckerman said.
“While the Pandemic caused delays to the award recipients being recognised for their achievements, it by no means diminishes the major contribution to Local Government the winners today make.”
Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the achievements of the winners highlight how much women contribute to our local councils.
“All of these impressive women set an example for everyone when it comes to excellence in public service, and I commend them, along with all of the nominees,” Mrs Taylor said.
“They set a very high standard, and I encourage everyone to ensure other women doing great work in local government are also celebrated by nominating them for the 2022 Awards.”

The winners of the 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government are:
Alternative Pathways Award – Metro
• Priscilla Felice, Trades Supervisor, Asset Maintenance, Waverley Council
Alternative Pathways Award – Regional/Rural
• Belinda Thomson, Vegetation Maintenance Supervisor, Lake Macquarie City Council
Champion of Change Award – Metro
• Marnie Mitchell, Manager, People and Performance, City of Ryde Council
Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural (shared)
• Laura Black, Acting General Manager, Clarence Valley Council
• Helen McNeil, Group Manager, People and Performance, Rous County Council
Elected Representative Award – Metro
• Councillor Clare Raffan, City of Canterbury Bankstown Council
Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural
• Councillor Marion Browne, City of Broken Hill Council
Employment Diversity Award – Metro
• Wollongong City Council
Young Achiever’s Award – Metro
• Kristyne Arneill, Support Officer, City of Canada Bay
Young Achiever’s Award – Regional/Rural
• Shanon Gray, Cadet Accountant, Lake Macquarie City Council
Councillor Lillian Brady OAM Award (formerly the Minister for Local Government Award for Women)
• Leanne Barnes OAM PSM, former General Manager of Bega Valley Shire Council

MEDIA: Rory Cunningham | Minister Taylor | 0454 674 099
Damien Bolte | Minister Tuckerman | 0498 359 624

PDF VersionMinisterial Media Release – 21 September 2022