Media Releases

More time to nominate in the Ministers’ awards for women in local government

Shelley Hancock – Minister for Local Government

Bronnie Taylor – Minister for Women

Thursday, 29 April 2021

Local communities across NSW have more time to acknowledge the achievements of women serving in their local council with the nomination period extended for the 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock said nominations recognising the invaluable contributions of female councillors and council staff can now be made until May 10.

“We’re giving locals more opportunity to nominate as many of the exceptionally talented women who help make our communities a better place to live in,” Mrs Hancock said.

“These awards provide a platform for local communities to share the achievements of women, their stories and all that they do, across 128 local councils in NSW.

“With council elections in September, recognising the amazing work being achieved by women in this sector also encourages other women to consider a rewarding career in local government.

“The event is even more special this year with an award and scholarship named after the late Cobar stalwart Lilliane Brady OAM to recognise her exceptional life and career as NSW’s longest serving female mayor.”
Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the NSW Government is committed to increasing female representation across the state, ensuring councils are more reflective of the communities they serve.

“Women make up less than a third of all councillors in NSW so we want to do all that we can to change those statistics around for future generations,” Ms Taylor said.

“I urge council staff, councillors, residents and businesses to nominate women who are making their community a great place to live, work and play.

“Nominations can also be made to recognise a council program and senior staff member driving change by supporting and encouraging female participation.”

Award categories are:

  • Employment Diversity Award – a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level
  • Elected Representative Award – a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives
  • Champion of Change Award – a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council
  • Alternative Pathways Award – a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes
  • Young Achiever’s Award – an outstanding trainee/apprentice (aged 25 and under) with recipients of this award also receiving the Lilliane Brady OAM Scholarship valued at $1,500 each
  • The Lilliane Brady OAM Award – The winner of this award is selected by the Minister with no nominations required (formerly known as the Minister for Local Government Award for Women)

Categories will be separately awarded to a metropolitan and a regional/rural council.

Nominations will close on May 10. For more information and to make a nomination, visit here.

MEDIA: Caterina Polistina | Minister Hancock | 0439 196 539
Brigid Glanville | Minister Taylor | 0427 805 738

PDF VersionMinisterial Media Release – 29 April 2021