Media Releases

New appointments to statutory local government body

Shelley Hancock – Minister for Local Government

Friday, 18 December 2020

The NSW Government today announced two new appointees to the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal.

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock announced the following appointments to the Tribunal for a period of two years:

  • Tribunal Member Viv May PSM. Mr May has half a century of experience in the NSW local government sector. He has previously served as general manager of Mosman Council as well as administrator of the suspended councils of Armidale and Auburn, and the new Cumberland Council in 2016, and
  • Assessor Kylie Yates. Ms Yates held a number of senior roles at Local Government NSW including Acting Chief Executive and Director Advocacy. She has also held senior positions at the Port Authority of NSW, The Centre for Volunteering, Networks NSW (Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy and Essential Energy), the NSW Department of Family and Community Services, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, and the Australian National Maritime Museum.

“The Local Government Remuneration Tribunal is responsible for categorising councils and mayoral offices to determine the maximum amounts of annual fees to be paid to councillors,” Mrs Hancock said.
“I am delighted to announce the appointment of Mr May and Ms Yates who bring a wealth of knowledge, skills and experience in the NSW local government sector.

“They replace former Tribunal Member Dr Robert David Lang and former Assessor Brian Bell whose terms have now ended. I sincerely thank them for their contribution to the work of the tribunal.”

More information on the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal can be found here.

MEDIA: Nicholas Story | 0438 255 020

PDF VersionMinisterial Media Release – 19 December 2020