Media Releases

New taskforce to support councils with disaster recovery

John Barilaro – Deputy Premier
Minister for Regional NSW
Ministry for Industry and Trade

Paul Toole – Minister for Regional Transport and Roads

Shelley Hancock – Minister for Local Government

Monday, 7 June 2021

A new Disaster Response Taskforce has been established to help local councils respond to natural disasters and manage the recovery process.

Deputy Premier and the minister responsible for disaster recovery John Barilaro said five new roles have been created to help council staff develop and deliver disaster recovery projects across NSW.

“The scale of the recent floods across NSW have put local councils under immense pressure as they work hard to restore safe access and rebuild – a job that they sometimes do not have the in-house capability or capacity to deliver quickly,” Mr Barilaro said.

“That’s why we have established this specialised taskforce to work with councils across the state to help their communities get back on their feet as soon as possible.”

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Paul Toole said the new staff will assist councils in applying for disaster funding to ensure they have the resources they need to fix vital infrastructure in a timely manner.

“We know how important these roads are to local communities, and how difficult the recovery process can be, which is why we’re putting boots on the ground in affected communities to make sure funding and expertise is available as soon as possible,” Mr Toole said.

“These specialists will be based in the regions they are supporting, which makes a huge difference in understanding the needs of each community, and will be in place by the end of the month.”

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock said the taskforce is great news for local councils.

“This will help councils on the ground where it’s needed most, easing pressure on the local government sector and helping to get our road network back on track after several years of unprecedented natural disasters.”

MEDIA: Jennifer Lugsdin | Deputy Premier | 0427 930 922
Alex Bernhardt | Minister Toole | 0448 203 742
Caterina Polistina | Minister Hancock | 0439 196 539

PDF VersionMinisterial Media Release – 7 June 2021