Media Releases

Snowy Valleys Council joins Canberra Region Joint Organisation

John Barilaro Deputy Premier Minister for Skills, Minister for Small Business, Minister for Regional NSW

Tuesday, 29 January 2019

Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional NSW John Barilaro today visited Tumut to announce that the NSW Government has granted approval for Snowy Valleys Council to join the Canberra Region Joint Organisation.

Mr Barilaro said the council will join the Canberra Region JO based on the strong synergies it shares with other members of the new Canberra regional body.

“Canberra Region Joint Organisation was one of 13 new regional bodies established across NSW last year to strengthen collaboration between local councils and the NSW Government on regional initiatives,” he said.

“All nine councils in the region are full members and the joint organisation is already hitting the ground running by identifying projects and programs it wants to focus on including boosting tourism, increasing agricultural exports, promoting recycling and reducing telecommunications blackspots.

“Joint organisations are established within State regional planning boundaries and the Canberra Region Joint Organisation corresponds with the South East and Tablelands regional planning area.

“Snowy Valleys Council lies adjacent to the planning region, however, the Government has included Snowy Valleys in the Canberra Region JO because of the shared community interests and collaboration between the council and the other members of the joint organisation. This is particularly true with regards to the infrastructure and economic growth related to Snowy Hydro 2.0.

“I welcome the inclusion of Snowy Valleys Council into the Canberra Region Joint Organisation and I am confident that the ten councils will work well together and with the NSW Government to drive strategic initiatives to the benefit of the community.”

Minister for Local Government Gabrielle Upton welcomed the formal proclamation of Snowy Valleys Council as a full member of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation.

“Joint organisations are a key mechanism through which the NSW Government delivers funding and programs to regional NSW,” Ms Upton said.

“They are giving regional councils and their communities a greater say in the prioritisation, planning and delivery of key infrastructure and services and other strategic initiatives.”

For more information about Canberra Region Joint Organisation visit:

Canberra Region Joint Organisation member councils: Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Upper Lachlan, Wingecarribee and Yass Valley.

MEDIA: James Jooste | Deputy Premier | 0429 978 036

PDF Version of Media Release: Ministerial Media Release – 29 January 2019 – Snowy Valleys Council joins Canberra Region Joint Organisation