Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content

Celebrating women in local government

Date: Wednesday 7th March 2018
Category: Ministerial Media Release

On the eve of International Women’s Day, the achievements, drive and innovation of women in NSW councils have been acknowledged and celebrated as part of the eleventh annual Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

Minister for Local Government Gabrielle Upton and Minister for Women Tanya Davies joined this year’s winners at a ceremony at NSW Parliament House, to share their accomplishments and say ‘thank you’.

Ms Upton congratulated the 17 women recognised in the Millicent Preston-Stanley room, named after the first woman elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1925, for their contribution to their communities through local government.

“The exceptional women recognised here today lead by example, not only in their workplaces but also in their communities and both are better for their contributions,’’ Ms Upton said.

“I would like to thank not only the women here today but also the hundreds more achieving behind the scenes in the 128 councils around the State.”

The Awards were established in 2008 to recognise the outstanding efforts of women at the grassroots level of government in metropolitan and rural/regional councils.


Back to top