Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content

Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government

The Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government celebrate the contribution of women to local government in NSW. In addition to recognising the significant contribution of Award winners, the Awards aim to encourage more women to take on leadership roles in local government in NSW.

In 2018 there are five categories of awards:

  1. Elected Representative.
  2. GM/Senior Staff Member – GM or senior staff positions as defined by councils in the Local Government Directory
  3. Non-Senior Staff Member - aimed at women who may not have worked in local government for long, or at a senior level, but who have demonstrated significant achievement and leadership
  4. Women in non-traditional roles – a role that is traditionally held by men where the nominee is the first to enter into that role at their Council or is breaking down gender stereotype barriers and conventions to perform the functions of any given role
  5. Women in traineeships or apprenticeships – the traineeships/apprentices category is a new category for 2018 and will recognise the achievements of outstanding individuals who have undertaken traineeships in the local government sector

Awards will be made to a metropolitan council and a rural/regional council for each of the four categories.


2018 Awards

The nomination period for the 2018 Awards closed on Thursday 18 January 2018​


The Awards will be presented by the Minister for Local Government and the Minister for Women at a function to celebrate International Women’s Day on Wednesday, 7 March 2018 at Parliament House in Sydney. All nominees are encouraged to attend the presentation. Invitations will be sent closer to the date.


Nominations must identify the relevant category and type of council

Nominations must address all selection criteria, which are broad, to encourage as wide a range of nominations as possible. Nominations must include specific achievements and/or examples that relate to Criterion 2 below.

A.        The nominee is a current female member of staff or a female elected representative of a NSW council. Elected representatives must have served during 2017, however do not necessarily have to be serving following the September 2017 Local Government elections.

B.        The nominee must provide a brief summary of at least one specific example (agreed by the nominee and nominator) to support the nomination, demonstrating tangible outcomes achieved and outstanding performance.

C.        The nominee must have gone above and beyond their expected role to make a significant contribution to their council, their community and/or the local government sector in NSW through each of the following:

Selection Criteria

  1. Achieving a beneficial outcome through an event or series of actions.
  2. Providing inspiration, innovation and/or leading by example.
  3. Working towards increasing the level of women's participation in local government elected, employed or volunteer roles.  Challenging gender stereotypes and conventions.

Nominations may highlight the contributions made by women towards any aspect of local government, not just for contributions towards initiatives for women.

Nomination Form

Please note:

  • Nominees must agree to the nomination by signing the nomination form.
  • Nominations must be seconded by another person besides the nominator.
  • The nominee and nominator must ensure that all information provided is complete and accurate.
  • Previous nominees are eligible for nomination, although previous winners are not eligible to receive an award for a category in which they have previously been awarded.
  • The cost of nominees attending the Awards presentation is to be borne by their council (or by the nominee).
  • The nominee’s supervisor/manager and their Council’s General Manager must be made aware of the nomination in order to facilitate attendance at the Awards presentation.
  • Details of Award winners and their nomination may be made available on the websites of OLG, Women NSW, LGNSW, LGPA and ALGWA, and may be used in media releases, together with any photographs taken at the Awards function.
  • Supporting information may be attached to the nomination but should be kept to a minimum (resumes and references should not be attached). Supporting documentation will not be returned.

Selection Process

It is anticipated that a panel comprising representatives from the offices of the Minister for Local Government and the Minister for Women, the Office of Local Government, Women NSW, ALGWA, LGPA and LGNSW will judge the nominations and select the winners for each category based on the selection criteria. Selection panel members will not be eligible for nomination.


Enquiries should be directed to the Office of Local Government by phoning (02) 4428 4100 or via email at

Previous Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government


Back to top