Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content

Joint Organisations to strengthen regional NSW

Joint organisation network unveiled

Joint organisations will transform the way the way the NSW Government and local councils collaborate, plan, set priorities and deliver important projects on a regional scale.

74 councils in regional NSW are now members of the 11 joint organisations: Canberra Region, Central NSW, Hunter, Illawarra Shoalhaven, Mid North Coast, Namoi, New England, Northern Rivers, Orana, Riverina and Murray, and Riverina.  

The new voluntary partnerships, involving more than 90 per cent of eligible councils, will benefit local communities across regional NSW by working across traditional council boundaries.

The NSW Government has allocated a total of $3.3million in seed funding for the network, with $300,000 in seed funding for each joint organisation, to help them become established.

In 2017 Parliament passed legislation to establish a network of joint organisations to strengthen regional collaboration.  Councils across regional NSW, including those in the Far West were invited to nominate to join a joint organisation.

A number of regions across NSW have a 100 per cent take-up by councils with full joint organisation membership in the Illawarra Shoalhaven, Hunter and Canberra regions.

Each Joint organisation will comprise member councils, a representative of State Government agencies and other key stakeholders as determined by each joint organisation board.

The NSW Government is committed to working closely with member councils on issues important to regional communities such as creating jobs and improving regional infrastructure, services and facilities.

Joint organisations will undertake a number of tasks to be operational by July 1, including electing a chairperson, employing an executive officer, adopting a code pf conduct and developing a charter.

Those regional councils that are not yet a member of a joint organisation are encouraged to consider resolving to join a joint organisation in their planning region. It is not too late to become a full voting member of a joint organisation before they become operational from July 2018.


Further Assistance for member councils

To facilitate that process the Office of Local Government (OLG) has prepared a comprehensive range of guidance materials as well as a suite of individual fact sheets:


In addition, a secure portal has been created where councils can access:

INFORMATION:   Joint organisation fact sheets and other documentation

CONTACTS:  Containing details for representatives from the OLG and the Department of Premier and Cabinet

FUNDING GUIDELINES:  Guidance material for establishment funding

SHARE SPACE:    Designed to encourage the sharing of best practice among the Joint Organisation community

To access the JO portal, simply click through to to register.


Network of Joint Organisations in regional NSW


Joint Organisation

Member councils

Canberra Region Joint Organisation

Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Upper Lachlan, Wingecarribee, Yass Valley

Central NSW Joint Organisation

Bathurst, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes, Lachlan, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Weddin

Hunter Joint Organisation

Cessnock, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Mid-Coast, Muswellbrook, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Singleton, Upper Hunter

Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation

Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wollongong

Mid North Coast Joint Organisation

Bellingen, Kempsey, Port Macquarie-Hastings

Namoi Joint Organisation

Gunnedah, Gwydir, Liverpool Plains, Tamworth, Walcha

New England Joint Organisation

Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Inverell, Moree Plains, Tenterfield, Uralla

Northern Rivers Joint Organisation

Ballina, Byron, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tweed

Back to top