Nominations now open for Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government 2021

Minister Awards

People across the State are encouraged to celebrate the contributions of inspirational women in NSW councils by making a nomination for the 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

The 14th annual awards are a chance to recognise female councillors and council staff who make invaluable contributions to improve the lives of the people they represent and serve.

The awards were established in 2008 to recognise the outstanding efforts of women at the grassroots level of government in metropolitan and regional/rural councils.

There are countless women across our State playing a vital role in creating stronger local councils and making their local community a better place to live, work and play.

This has been particularly evident given the number of women in the sector who have gone above and beyond to help their community during the COVID-19 pandemic, drought, bushfires and floods.

Award categories are:

  • Employment Diversity Award – a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level
  • Elected Representative Award – a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives
  • Champion of Change Award – a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council
  • Alternative Pathways Award – a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes
  • Young Achiever’s Award – an outstanding trainee/apprentice (aged 25 and under)
  • The Lilliane Brady OAM Award (formerly known as the Minister for Local Government Award for Women). The winner of this award is selected by the Minister. No nominations are required.

The late Cobar Mayor Lilliane Brady OAM was the inaugural recipient of the Minister for Local Government Award for Women in 2020.

This award has been formally named after Lilliane to honour her extraordinary life and career as the State’s longest serving female mayor, and advocacy for women in the sector.

To further recognise Lilliane’s outstanding contribution, recipients of the Young Achiever’s Award will also receive the Lilliane Brady OAM Scholarship, valued at $1,500 each.

Women make up only 31 per cent of all NSW councillors and the Government is committed to increasing female representation so local councils across the State are more reflective of the communities they serve.

With council elections in September, recognising the amazing work being achieved by women in the sector also encourages other women to consider a rewarding career in local government.

Categories will be separately awarded to a metropolitan council and a regional/rural council.

Nominations are now closed and an online video awards presentation will be held later this year.