

Shelley Hancock Minister for Local Government

Bronnie Taylor

Minister for Mental Health, Regional Youth and Women

MEDIA RELEASE

Monday, 31 August 2020

MINISTERS' AWARDS SHINE SPOTLIGHT ON INSPIRATIONAL WOMEN IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT

The accomplishments of inspirational women in NSW councils have been celebrated with the announcement of the winners of the 2020 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government.

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock and Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor hosted an online ceremony for the awards, along with former City of Sydney councillor and social advocate Kathryn Greiner.

"With our local communities impacted by bushfires, drought and COVID-19 this year, it has never been more important to recognise the dedication and commitment of the remarkable women serving in our local councils across the State," Mrs Hancock said.

"This year's winners have shown exceptional leadership in not only serving their councils and communities but also leading the way for other women considering a rewarding career in local government."

Mrs Hancock said the awards received a record number of nominations this year, with an exceptional calibre of nominees.

"I congratulate this year's award winners and nominees and sincerely thank them for their dedication and commitment to serving their local communities," Mrs Hancock said.

"In particular I would like to congratulate Cobar Mayor Cr Lilliane Brady OAM, the longest serving female mayor in NSW, who is the inaugural winner of the Minister for Local Government Award for Women.

Mrs Taylor said the NSW Government is committed to increasing female participation in local councils across the State.

"Women represent less than a third of all councillors in NSW so we must do all we can to encourage more women to become involved in local government," Mrs Taylor said.

"We already have many talented and inspiring women in our 128 local councils – we need more just like them to close the gender gap and ensure our councils are representative of the communities they serve."

The special online video ceremony can be viewed here.

Winners of the 2020 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government

Alternative Pathways Award – Metro

• Sandra Kubecka, Director of Community Assets, Camden Council

Alternative Pathways Award - Regional/Rural

• Kim White, Local Emergency Management Officer, Shoalhaven City Council

Champion of Change Award – Metro

• Monica Barone, Chief Executive Officer, City of Sydney

Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural

• Suzanne Richmond, Human Resources Manager, Tweed Shire Council

Elected Representative Award – Metro

• Cr Rachelle Harika, City of Canterbury Bankstown

Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural

• Cr Phyllis Miller OAM, Mayor, Forbes Shire Council

Employment Diversity Award – Metro

City of Sydney

Employment Diversity Award – Regional/Rural

Wagga Wagga City Council

Young Achiever's Award - Metro

• Elizabeth Pirolo, Trainee, Liverpool City Council

Young Achiever's Award - Regional/Rural

• Annabell Hooghuis, Apprentice Nursery Officer Landcare, Lake Macquarie City Council

Minister for Local Government Award for Women

Cr Lilliane Brady OAM, Mayor, Cobar Shire Council

MEDIA: Nicholas Story | Minister Hancock | 0438 255 020 Richard Shute | Minister Taylor | 0409 394 232