

Bronnie Taylor

Minister for Women Minister for Regional Health Minister for Mental Health

Wendy Tuckerman Minister for Local Government

MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday, 24 November 2022

WOMENS' EXCELLENCE IN COUNCILS RECOGNISED

Some of the State's most talented and inspiring women from across NSW Councils have been recognised today in a ceremony at Parliament House for the 2022 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government.

Minister for Local Government Wendy Tuckerman said the Awards are a celebration of the significant contribution women make to the sector, as staff or elected representatives.

"Local government offers a world of opportunity for women, and I'm so proud to be putting a spotlight on some of the fantastic achievements and programs nominated for an award," Mrs Tuckerman said.

"Each of the inspirational women receiving an award today is making a difference in their community and they thoroughly deserve this recognition."

Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the annual Awards celebrate women setting an example of excellence in public service.

"Today's Award winners demonstrate the essential role women play in making our communities better places to live and work," Mrs Taylor said.

"These women are not only high-achievers, they are role models for anyone interested in a career in local government and I congratulate them all on their achievements."

The winners of the 2022 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government are:

Alternative Pathways Award – Metro

 Rebecca Tempest, Resource Recovery and Waste Services Manager, Blue Mountains City Council

Alternative Pathways Award - Regional/Rural

 Doreen Harwood, Enterprise Risk and Emergency Management Officer, Tweed Shire Council

Champion of Change Award – Metro

 Jennifer Concato, Executive Director, City Planning and Design, City of Parramatta Council

Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural

Kim Bush,
 Division Manager, Community Development and Participation,
 Eurobodalla Shire Council

Elected Representative Award – Metro

 Mayor, Dr Christina Curry, Bayside Council

Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural

 Mayor, Chris Cherry, Tweed Shire Council

Employment Diversity Award – Metro

Cumberland City Council

Employment Diversity Award - Regional/Rural

Rous County Council

Young Achiever's Award – Metro

 Grace Haydon, Senior Project Officer, Major Projects and Precincts, City of Parramatta Council

Young Achiever's Award - Regional/Rural

 Shannon MacKenzie, Trainee Administration Officer, Lake Macquarie City Council

Councillor Lilliane Brady OAM Award (formerly the Minister for Local Government Award for Women)

 Mayor, Sharon Cadwallader, Ballina Shire Council

> MEDIA: Rory Cunningham | Minister Taylor | 0457 674 099 Damien Bolte | Minister Tuckerman | 0498 359 624

***Editor's note: Images available here:

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/hjj7lyxqb7gjjp6x8jae9/h?dl=0&rlkey=yxcfs3e51xxgva65r3r9s76n5 ***