

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Friday, 14 February 2020

## WAGGA WAGGA CITY COUNCIL JOINS RIVERINA JOINT ORGANISATION

Wagga Wagga City Council has been formally proclaimed a member of the Riverina Joint Organisation, Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock announced today.

Mrs Hancock said Wagga Wagga City Council joins seven other local councils as a member of the regional body including Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Greater Hume, Junee, Lockhart, and Temora.

"As the local government body in the heart of the region, I am delighted that Wagga Wagga City Council formally resolved to voluntarily join the Riverina Joint Organisation," Mrs Hancock said.

"Joint organisations are a key mechanism through which the NSW Government delivers funding and programs to regional NSW. They also give regional councils and their communities a greater say in the prioritisation, planning, and delivery of key infrastructure and services.

"The addition of Wagga Wagga City Council will enable greater collaboration between the region's councils, and in turn assist the NSW Government in delivering better outcomes for the Riverina community."

Riverina Joint Organisation Chairman and Temora Mayor Rick Firman welcomed the proclamation of Wagga Wagga City Council as a member of the regional body.

"The Board and I look forward to Wagga Wagga City working with us to further strengthen our Riverina councils and our communities, which we proudly represent," Councillor Firman said.

Mrs Hancock said the addition of Wagga Wagga City Council to the Riverina Joint Organisation will also contribute to delivering its Regional Strategic Priorities.

"The joint organisation is focusing on a range of priority areas that best serve the needs of the Riverina, such as transport, economic development, water, and community wellbeing," Mrs Hancock said.

MEDIA: Nicholas Story | 0438 255 020