Joint Organisations

NSW boasts a network of 13 joint organisations to strengthen collaboration and engagement between State and local governments and improve infrastructure and service delivery to regional communities.

Eighty-seven councils in regional NSW are members of the 13 joint organisations: Canberra Region, Central NSW, Far North West, Far South West, Hunter, Illawarra Shoalhaven, Mid North Coast, Namoi, New England, Northern Rivers, Orana, Riverina and Murray, and Riverina.

Each Joint organisation comprises member councils, State agencies and other key stakeholders as determined by each joint organisation board.

Joint organisations have transformed the way the NSW Government and local councils collaborate, plan, set priorities and deliver important projects on a regional scale.

The regional bodies are a key mechanism through which the Government delivers funding and programs to regional NSW.

Each joint organisation has developed a Statement of Strategic Regional Priorities containing the programs, projects and initiatives it is focusing on delivering by working across traditional council boundaries.

The Office of Local Government (OLG) works closely with member councils and other key stakeholders to support joint organisations to deliver for their regional communities.

The NSW Government has invested $8.2 million in helping to establish joint organisations and strengthen their strategic capability and delivery of regional priorities.


Joint Organisation Review

During 2021, the Office of Local Government (OLG) contracted specialist consulting firm ARTD to review the Joint organisation (JO) framework. The overall objective of the review was to ensure the effectiveness of the JO framework, so that JOs can deliver their core functions.

The review concluded that the JO Framework is a robust and credible, but makes some recommendations for improvement. The review identifies opportunities to refine the JO model to ensure JOs meet their potential.

The Joint Organisation Review, Volume 1: Overview Report and Joint Organisation Profiles, Volume 2 are available to be downloaded.

Network of Joint Organisations in regional NSW

Joint Organisation Member Councils
Canberra Region Joint Organisation Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Upper Lachlan, Wingecarribee, Yass Valley.
Central NSW Joint Organisation Bathurst, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes, Lachlan, Lithgow, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Weddin.
Hunter Joint Organisation Cessnock, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Mid-Coast, Muswellbrook, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Singleton, Upper Hunter.
Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wollongong.
Namoi Joint Organisation Gunnedah, Gwydir, Liverpool Plains, Tamworth, Walcha.
New England Joint Organisation Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Inverell, Uralla, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Tenterfield.
Northern Rivers Joint Organisation Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tweed, Richmand Valley.
Orana Joint Organisation Bogan, Gilgandra, Mid-Western, Narromine, Warren, Warrumbungle.
Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation Albury, Berrigan, Carrathool, Edward River, Federation, Griffith, Hay, Leeton, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera.
Riverina Joint Organisation Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Greater Hume, Junee, Lockhart, Temora, Wagga.
Mid North Coast Joint Organisation Port Macquarie-Hastings, Kempsey, Bellingen.
Far North West Joint Organisation Bourke, Cobar, Walgett
Far South West Joint Organisation Balranald, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Wentworth