The Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government are a chance to recognise female councillors and council staff who make invaluable contributions to improve the lives of the people they represent and serve.

The awards were established in 2008 to recognise the outstanding efforts of women at the grassroots level of government in metropolitan and regional/rural councils.

There are countless women across our State playing a vital role in creating stronger local councils and making their local community a better place to live, work and play.

Award categories include separate awards for metropolitan and regional/rural councils including county councils and joint organisations. The categories are:

  • Alternative Pathways Award – for a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes.
  • Champion of Change Award – for a male and a female general manager or senior manager who have excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council.
  • Elected Representative Award – for a female councillor who has improved the position of female elected representatives.
  • Employment Diversity Award – for a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level.
  • Woman of Distinction Award – for a woman who has demonstrated exceptional innovation, integrity and initiative or who has a positive influence on others.
  • Young Achiever’s Award –for an outstanding female staff member (including trainees and apprentices) aged 25 and under.
  • Councillor Lilliane Brady OAM Award – nominations are not required. The winner will be determined by the Minister to recognise and honour the dedication and tireless work of a female council staff member or elected representative.

The late Cobar Mayor Lilliane Brady OAM was the inaugural recipient of the Minister for Local Government Award for Women in 2020. This award has been formally named after Lilliane to honour her extraordinary life and career as the State’s longest serving female mayor, and advocacy for women in the sector.

Nominations closed on Friday, 21 June 2024.

 To view the question, you would be responding under each category, please click here.


Winners of the 2023 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government

Alternative Pathways Award – Metro

Mary Boustani

ICT Systems Engineer

Inner West Council


Alternative Pathways Award – Regional/Rural

Rachael Abberton

Senior Water and Sewer Planning Engineer

MidCoast Council


Champion of Change Award – Metro

Ben Taylor

General Manager

Wollondilly Shire Council


Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural

Melissa Maccallum

Manager – Building and Environment

Orange City Council


Elected Representative Award – Metro

Councillor Judy Hannan

Wollondilly Shire Council


Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural

Councillor Sarah Ndiaye

Byron Shire Council


Employment Diversity Award – Metro

Inner West Council


Employment Diversity Award – Regional/Rural

Armidale Regional Council


Woman of Distinction Award – Metro (shared)

Renee Traynor

Team Leader Diversity and Inclusion

Canterbury-Bankstown Council


Liz Murphy

Manager, Community Recovery

Hawkesbury City Council


Woman of Distinction Award – Regional/Rural (shared)

Lucy Kinsley PSM

Regional Library Manager, Richmond Tweed Regional Library

Lismore City Council


Helen Plummer

Manager Asset Management

Lake Macquarie City Council


Young Achievers Award – Metro

Keira Grundy

Art Gallery Trainee

Mosman Municipal Council


Young Achievers Award – Regional/Rural

Jenna Dowell

Trainee Engineer

Upper Hunter Shire Council


Councillor Lilliane Brady OAM Award

Councillor Darriea Turley AM, Local Government NSW President

Broken Hill City Council